2021 National Distinguished Principal Award

2021 WV Principal of the Year/ National Distinguished Principal

The West Virginia Association for Elementary Middle School Principals (WVAEMSP) is proud to announce Ms. Cindy Calfee of Matewan K-8 School as the 2021 West Virginia Principal of the Year and recognized as a National Distinguished Principal (NDP) by the National Association of Elementary Principals (NAESP).

Ms. Calfee was notified of the honor at a surprise assembly at her school on Friday, April 30, 2021 the Matewan staff and Mingo Central Office Staff were in attendance.

In nine years as Matewan PreK-8’s principal, with 20 years of principalship on her resume, Cindy Calfee has steered this school toward positive academic and behavioral growth. Located in a rural area where jobs have been in decline, Matewan faced challenges when the elementary and middle schools had to be combined. Calfee was up to the challenge, focusing on implementation of PBIS to foster appropriate behaviors and encourage a sense of community among all grade levels. Currently, the school regularly exceeds state and county proficiency measures and has been recognized as a PBIS Spotlight School by the West Virginia Behavior/Mental Health Technical Assistance Center for its grit, determination, and ultimate success in drastically reducing disruptive behavior and creating a positive atmosphere where academic success can happen.

Ms. Calfee is always seeking out ways to enrich her students’ experience. In 2018, the school received a grant from the National Consortium for Entrepreneurship Education, supporting the development of entrepreneurship programming that culminated in students designing and creating unique products to present at multiple Entrepreneurial Fairs to the school community. The school was named America’s Entrepreneurial School in 2018. During the pandemic, Calfee and her team pivoted to providing support to both students and their families, partnering with county social workers and the PERC assistant to increase communication with families and connect them to resources. Calfee holds multiple degrees from West Virginia, Marshall, and Salem Universities.

The NAESP recognized Ms. Calfee in a statement, “NAESP’s National Distinguished Principal® (NDP) program honors outstanding elementary and middle-level principals who ensure that America’s children acquire a sound foundation for lifelong learning and achievement. We congratulate Ms. Calfee, and her staff and students for this great achievement.”

Each year, NAESP congratulates administrators from across the nation in both public and private schools and schools from the United States Departments of Defense Office of Educational Activity and the United States Department of State Office of Overseas Schools for their exemplary achievements.  National Outstanding Assistant Principals Award Program

The West Virginia Association of Elementary Middle School Principals is the largest school administrator organization in West Virginia.  The WVAEMSP offers advocacy and association benefits for all members.  For more information please contact Executive Director Dr. Mickey Blackwell at 304-610-6680 or mblackwell@wvprincipals.org

National Distinguished Principal Award Honorees

2021 Cindy Calfee
2020 Alicia Lett
2019 John Jorden
2019 Debbie Starr
2018 Cathy Bradley
2018 Renee Warner
2017 Jennifer A. Cox
2016 Carole A. Crawford
2015 Betty J. Moore
2014 Terry A. Sauvageot
2013 Sara J. Lewis-Stankus
2012 Diane K. Hull
2011 Boyd C. Mynes, Jr.
2010 Terry M. Nelson
2009 Dean M. Warrenfeltz
2008 Michael D. White
2007 Dreama S. Bell
2006 Bruce A. Kolsun
2005 Barry S. Band
2004 Alice D. Tenney
2003 Sylvia K. Goodson
2002 Rosalee H. Dolan
2001 Brenda J. Valentine
2000 Rosalee H. Dolan
1999 Darlene S. Dalton
1998 Harold J. Cunningham
1997 Carol Hager
1996 Leonard J. Allen
1995 Philip B. Brown
1994 James P. Brannon
1993 William C. Fox
1992 Gregory M. Kuhns
1991 Peggy C. Hawse
1990 Rodney P. Woods
1989 Vincent R. Delconte
1988 John W. Ritchey
1987 Frank D. Devono
1986 Janet C. Crescenzi
1985 Lois S. Casto
1984 Robert Kenton Cutlip