2019 National Distinguished Principal Award

Congratulations to the 2019 National Distinguished Principals for West Virginia.  Our NDPs are John Jorden from Ritchie Elementary in Ohio County and Debbie Starr of Kermit School in Mingo County.  John is our Elementary NDP and Debbie is our Middle School Principal.

Both are the first winners from their respective counties! Principals Jorden and Starr were named as NDPs in surprise assemblies this spring. They will receive recognition this fall In Washington D.C and at the WV Principals State Conference in December. I

The National Distinguished Principals (NDP) program was established by the National Association of Elementary Principals (NAESP) in 1984 to recognize elementary and middle level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, and climate for the students, families, and staffs in their learning communities. The program was based on three fundamental ideas:

  • Children’s attitudes towards learning and their perceptions of themselves as lifelong learners are established in the beginning school years.
  • The scope and quality of children’s educational experiences are determined primarily by the school principal, who establishes, through the important work of teachers and the support of caring parents, the character of a particular school’s program.
  • The dedication and enthusiasm of the outstanding principals who guide children’s early education experiences should be acknowledged to both show appreciation for their work as well as to allow them to serve as models for others in the field.

Each year, NDPs represent Pre-K – 8th grade public schools from all across the country as well as principals in U.S. private schools and those from the United States Departments of Defense Office of Educational Activity and the United States Department of State Office of Overseas Schools. Public school elementary and middle-level principals are nominated by peers in their state, and final selections are made by committees appointed by each of NAESP’s state affiliate offices.

National Distinguished Principal Award Honorees

2019 John Jorden
2019 Debbie Starr
2018 Cathy Bradley
2018 Renee Warner
2017 Jennifer A. Cox
2016 Carole A. Crawford
2015 Betty J. Moore
2014 Terry A. Sauvageot
2013 Sara J. Lewis-Stankus
2012 Diane K. Hull
2011 Boyd C. Mynes, Jr.
2010 Terry M. Nelson
2009 Dean M. Warrenfeltz
2008 Michael D. White
2007 Dreama S. Bell
2006 Bruce A. Kolsun
2005 Barry S. Band
2004 Alice D. Tenney
2003 Freda A. Harless
2002 Sylvia K. Goodson
2001 Brenda J. Valentine
2000 Rosalee H. Dolan
1999 Darlene S. Dalton
1998 Harold J. Cunningham
1997 Carol Hager
1996 Leonard J. Allen
1995 Philip B. Brown
1994 James P. Brannon
1993 William C. Fox
1992 Gregory M. Kuhns
1991 Peggy C. Hawse
1990 Rodney P. Woods
1989 Vincent R. Delconte
1988 John W. Ritchey
1987 Frank D. Devono
1986 Janet C. Crescenzi
1985 Lois S. Casto
1984 Robert Kenton Cutlip